3 January 2013

Insurance Council Board announces resignations

The Insurance Council of Australia (ICA) has announced three resignations from the Board.

Shane Doyle, CEO of Zurich Financial Services Australia, Mike McCarthy, CEO of RAC Insurance and Terry Towell, Managing Director of Allianz Australia Limited, resigned from the board in 2012.

Mr Doyle resigned on June 30, Mr McCarthy on December 17 and Mr Towell on December 31.

Recently appointed President and Chairman of the ICA Board, Mr Mark Milliner, CEO Personal Insurance for the Suncorp Group, thanked the three directors for their contribution and service.

“On behalf of the entire Board I would like to thank Mr Towell, Mr McCarthy and Mr Doyle for their hard work and commitment to the Insurance Council. It has been invaluable in helping steer the ICA and wider industry forward,” Mr Milliner said.

“Mr Towell has served on the ICA board for more than 17 years, serving two stints as ICA President from 1994 to 1995 and from 2009 to 2010. He has made a significant contribution to the organisation.

“The experience of Mr Doyle, and Mr McCarthy will also be missed.”

In 2012 the Board appointed three new members: Mr Andy Cornish of Insurance Australia Group, Mr Adrian Humphreys of Lloyds and Mr Mark Senkevics of Swiss Re.

Mr Milliner said: “This year I expect the ICA Board will continue to build on the achievements of 2012 to ensure the industry has a sustainable future in Australia.”

The next meeting of the ICA Board in February will vote on new appointees to the board.

Media Contacts

Contact the on-call media adviser
0432 121 116
Download ICA Contact Card